J.J. Abrams to give keynote at gaming conference

J.J. Abrams. (AFP PHOTO DDP/STEFFI LOOS)

J.J. Abrams. (AFP PHOTO DDP/STEFFI LOOS)

Relaxnews

, Last Updated: 1:34 PM ET

J.J. Abrams, newly installed producer and director of Star Wars: Episode VII, will take to the stage of video game industry summit DICE 2013 in Las Vegas for its Feb. 6 opening keynote entitled "Storytelling Across Platforms," to be streamed live online.

Abrams will be in the company of Gabe Newell, the ex-Microsoft man who set up Valve Corporation, a video game company responsible for the Half-Life, Portal, and Left 4 Dead series, as well as PC game's dominant download service, the Steam Network.

Newell and Abrams previously collaborated when promotional material for 2011 film Super 8 was included with the Windows and Mac versions of Portal 2.

The DICE Summits have traditionally been geared towards video game professionals, but this year will be live streamed by YouTube channels ENTV and Variety, with the opening keynote to start at 9:30 am PST.

That's 12:30pm EST, 5:30 p.m. GMT, 6:30 p.m. Central Europe, 1:30 a.m. the next day in Singapore and the Philippines, or 4:30am in Sydney, Australia.

As well being on the slate for the conference's Feb. 6 opening keynote, Newell is named as the sole presenter of Thursday morning's keynote speech on Feb. 7, a future-facing talk entitled "A View on Next Steps," which starts at the same time.

The DICE Awards will be picked up by MachinimaLive's YouTube channel on Feb. 7 from 7 p.m. PST (10 p.m. EST, then 3 a.m. GMT, 4 a.m. CET, 11 a.m. in Singapore and the Philippines, and 2 p.m. in Sydney).

Useful links
DICE Schedule in full: dicesummit.org/dice_schedules/2013_schedule.asp
Variety on YouTube: youtube.com/user/Variety
ENTV on YouTube: youtube.com/user/ENTV
MachinimaLive on YouTube: youtube.com/user/machinimalive


Videos

Photos